Keynote Speakers

Confirmed Keynotes

Amy Child, Senior Transport Planner, ARUP

With over 14 year’s national and international experience, Amy Child is a transport planner at Arup specialising in transport strategy and travel demand management.  She holds qualifications in Civil Engineering, Urban and Environmental Planning and Transport Planning and Management.

Passionate about all things ‘city, Amy strives to provide transport solutions which are equitable, considerate of the urban fabric and enhance the user experience.  She offers a wealth of expertise in developing transport strategies with a focus on walking and cycling.  Most recently she has been involved in the development of low stress cycling infrastructure suitable for all, rather than the brave few.

To date Amy has had a number of career highlights including developing the transport strategy for the new Perth Stadium and working with the Olympic Delivery Authority providing travel planning advice to businesses impacted by the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic games.

Andrew Heslop, social entrepreneur, commentator, community advocate, founder of Neighbour Day

Andrew Heslop is an award winning keynote speaker and community leader with a global reputation as a social entrepreneur for founding Australia’s annual celebration of community, Neighbour Day.

He is also a thought leader and frequent media commentator, represented exclusively by The Fordham Agency in Melbourne, Australia. Andrew began his career aged 15 with John Fairfax Ltd in Adelaide at 5DN 972 in 1985, working with the city’s leading news talk personalities. His credits also include the ABC, 3AW and Austereo as the B105 Morning Crew Producer.

Neighbour Day actively builds social capital, promotes social cohesion, integration and positive relationships between neighbours of all ages and from all cultural backgrounds all year round.

Through his initiative Andrew has empowered communities and demonstrated how the power of advocacy can positively change the way we interact, achieve and communicate. In 2014 he gifted Neighbour Day in perpetuity to Relationships Australia. He now holds the role of Ambassador and Neighbour Day founder with the organisation. Andrew is also an Australia Day Ambassador, a member of the Qantas Frequent Flyer Advisory Community, an Australian Ambassador for Jamie Oliver’s global Food Revolution Day and an Ambassador for the Garage Sale Trail. He has formerly held the Australian Government roles of Champion for the National Broadband Network, Champion for the National Compact and as an Outreach Partner with the Office for the Not–for–Profit Sector in the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet.

At his invitation Governor–General Her Excellency Dame Quentin Bryce AC CVO provided the Anniversary Address for Neighbour Day’s 10th year in 2012. In March 2012 he was also recognised by the NSW Parliament for Neighbour Day and in December named NSW Volunteer of the Year for developing, leading and funding Neighbour Day.

In March 2011 he was a delegate to the People’s Parliament for The Daily Telegraph and Sky News Australia. Andrew was the inaugural winner of the Westpac Prize in 2010 for developing Neighbour Day and in January that year was named by Fairfax Media as one of Sydney’s TOP 100 Most Influential People in the[sydney]magazine.

In April 2008 he participated in the Beijing Olympic Torch Relay and in May spoke at the United Nations about Neighbour Day’s growth from a Letter to the Editor to a national event supported by communities and local government.  A portrait of Andrew by Sydney artist Bruce Remmer was entered into the 2010 Archibald Prize.

Marianne Taylor, House Detective

Marianne Taylor is the “House Detective”, a freelance architectural historian who specialises in investigating the history of houses. With an extensive background in heritage conservation and management, she also provides consultancy services in these areas.

In 2015, Marianne was the recipient of the Helen Taylor Research Award for Brisbane Retro. This project involved researching and recording surviving “as built” examples of post-war houses, culminating in a highly successful exhibition and e-book.

Marianne seeks to promote the importance of retaining examples of our old buildings. She is particularly passionate about the sympathetic adaptive re-use of buildings, as a sustainable and environmentally conscious alternative to demolition.

Laurie Buys, PhD, Professor, School of Design, Theme Leader, Infrastructure for Sustainable Communities, Queensland University of Technology

Peter Ellyard, Futurist

Dr Melanie Lowe, Healthy Liveable Cities Research Group, Centre for Urban Research, RMIT

Brent McAlister, Executive Director Sustainable Development, Lismore City Council

Peter Smith, Principal, Place Governance Partners to Featured Speakers

Invited Keynote Speakers

  • Bevan Lynch, Chairman of the Board, Urban Futures Brisabane
  • Heather Yeatman, Professor, Head of School of Health Society, University of Woollongong

Join the conversation

The Program Committee would like to thank our previous years’ keynote speakers:

  • Sarah Breavington, Group Sustainability Manager, Mirvac
  • Dr Elliot Fishman, Director, Institute for Sensible Transport
  • Mr Peter Malatt, Director, Six Degrees Architecture
  • Mr Jeremy McLeod, Director, Breathe Architecture
  • Mr Ben Peacock, Founder and Partner, Republic of Everyone
  • Dr Sheryn Pitman, Programme Manager Inspiring South Australia, South Australian Museum
  • Professor Susan Thompson, Professor of Planning and Director City Wellbeing, City Futures Research Centre, The University of New South Wales, Australia
  • Mr Martin Udale, Director of  Tamaki Regeneration, Director of Panuku Development Auckland and Chair of Wairaka Land company, New Zealand
  • Jonathan Daly, Founding Partner, Human Understanding of Social Spaces (HUSS)
  • Lucinda Hartley, CEO and co-founder, CoDesign Studio
  • Prof Paul James, Director, Institute for Culture and Society, University of Western Sydney
  • Mr Kevin Luten, Founder, CEO, Behaviour Design Works
  • Yvonne Lynch, Team Leader Urban Forest & Ecology, City of Melbourne
  • Dr Alexandra Macmillan, Public Health Physician and Senior Lecturer, Environmental Health, Department of Preventive and Social Medicine, University of Otago
  • Prof Gavin Turrell, Principal Research Fellow, School of Public Health, QUT
  • Dr Tim Williams, Chief Executive Officer, The Committee of Sydney
  • Mr Tim Bennett, Managing Director, Managed Growth Group
  • Mr Steven Burgess, Principal, MRCagney Pty Ltd
  • Adj. Prof Penelope Coombes, Managing Director, People for Places and Spaces
  • Mr Paul Edwards, Group General Manager, Sustainability, Mirvac
  • Professor Marcus Foth, Founder and Director, Urban Informatics Research Lab.
    Professorial Fellow, School of Design, Creative Industries Faculty, Queensland University of Technology
  • Ms Claire Johnston, Project Director, Lend Lease
  • Mr Greg Mackie, CEO, Place Leaders Asia Pacific
  • Ms Ruth Spielman, Executive Officer, National Growth Areas Alliance
  • Ms Kerryn Wilmot, Research Principal, Institute for Sustainable Futures, UTS

Comments are closed